Webinar 2: Voices of Women Architects in Bangladesh

The share of women in the architecture profession and leadership roles is not encouraging, particularly when compared with the number of female students in architecture schools in Bangladesh. The aim of this webinar is to initiate the conversation and give an overview of the state of play and the challenges faced by the women architects in Bangladesh.

Your participation in the live event would be greatly appreciated.

 

Date:    Saturday, 5 September 2020

Time:    Asia/Pacific – 7:00 pm Dhaka | 11:00 pm Sydney | 9:00 pm Singapore

Americas – 9:00 am US Eastern | 06:00 am US Pacific

Europe – 3:00 pm DE Berlin Germany | 2:00 pm GB London

Live stream:  Facebook link: https://www.facebook.com/events/353927398979865/

Duration: 90 minutes

Language: Bangla


 

 

Panelists:

Mamnoon Morshed Chowdhury, Vice president, Institute of Architects Bangladesh (IAB)

Shaila Joarder, Associate Professor and Chair, Dept of Architecture, North South University

Tanya Karim, Architect Partner, TKNRK

Sultana Hoque Mitu, Principal Architect, Sthapotik Nirman

Saiqa Iqbal Meghna, Architect Partner, Sthanik Consultants & Studio Morphogenesis Ltd.; Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture, BRAC University.

Host and Moderator:

Rumana Kabir, Independent Consultant

Rapporteur:

Shawlin Islam. Architecture Graduate

Guests:

Tanzil Shafique, PhD Researcher

Saad Ben Mostafa, Architect

Organizer:

CONTEXT (www.contextbd.com)

 

© CONTEXT
© CONTEXT

 

 

Program and Schedule

00:00-00:02: Opening remarks – CONTEXT & Shawlin Islam

00:02-00:05:  Introduction to the panel; setting the scene; moderation rule explained- Rumana Kabir

 

Part 1:  The Big Picture | Duration 30 min

[Overview of the architecture practice, Overview of the women entering the field of architecture and then dropping out]

00:05-00:35: Discussants: Mamnoon Morshed Chowdhury, Shaila Joardar

 

Part 2:  The Mainstream Practice | Duration 30 min

[Motivations and barriers in practice, Special challenges for young generation architects]

00:35-01:05: Discussants: Tanya Karim, Sultana Hoque Mitu, Saiqa Iqbal Meghna

 

Part 3:  Conclusion and moving forward | Duration 25 min

[Q&A from audience + host]

01:05-01:20: Discussants: Mamnoon Morshed Chowdhury, Shaila Joardar, Tanya Karim, Sultana Hoque Mitu, Saiqa Iqbal Meghna

01:20-01:25: Summary:  Rumana Kabir

01:25-01:29: Special Announcement Tanzil Shafique & Saad Ben Mostafa

01:29-01:30: Closing Remarks CONTEXT

The end.

 

Comments and Questions:   You can post your comments and questions at the event page provided HERE and also send an email to myquestion2020@gmail.com  . Facilitators will collect the questions for the panel and ask.

 

Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0



Ad
Ad