Humanitarian Architecture


Organized by ARCASIA and sponsored by NS Bluescope (Thailand)


Young Architects of ARCASIA (40 years and under) and member of the institute of their country


This year the organizer calls for research proposals on general topic of humanitarian architecture. The research shall be originated from the indigenous context and environment of the Young Architect’s country/city of origin, or country/city of current residence. Emphasis shall be placed on adaptation and implementation of research-derived knowledge and techniques to a practical or hypothetical humanitarian architecture project in the Young Architect’s country/city, or respective country zone. It is highly preferable that the project yield tangible outcomes, e.g., in the form of prototype, large-scale model, partial construction.

Top three proposals will be awarded scholarship to travel Thailand to conduct proposed research, and to Hong Kong to present research findings during the 17th Asian Congress of Architects (ACA17), scheduled for the end of September 2016. Proposed length of stay in Thailand during the month of June 2016 is at the discretion of the Young Architect, but should neither be shorter than 7 days, nor longer than 29 days.

During their stay in Thailand, the three Awardees shall conduct proposed research under the guidance of, and/or in collaboration with, three distinguished Thai experts in the field of humanitarian architecture: Patama Roonrakwit [CASE], Chutayaves Sinthuphan [Site-Specific] and Vipavee Kunavichayanont [Design for Disasters]. The three selected projects will also be published in hard copy and e-journal.


Each proposal submission shall comprise the following:

– Description of research goals & objectives

– What will be achieved during the research trip to Thailand

– Detailed travel itinerary in Thailand

– Research precedents (if applicable) and project background


Two A3 graphic sheets, in format of High Quality Jpeg (Landscape Format 420×594 mm)

Resolution: 150dpi (3,508×2,480 pixels)

Text file containing the project statement (1000 words max)

Text file containing the Young Architect’s personal information, including name, age, contact address, email, and architectural institute affiliation

All materials must be submitted electronically to:

The total file size must not exceed 15 MB


There will be three (3) prizes awarded, one for each of three ARCASIA zones: Zone A, Zone B, and Zone C. Please refer to ARCASIA website for more information on the country zones.

The monetary amount for the award shall be

Zone A: 4,500 USD

Zone B: 4,500 USD

Zone C: 4,500 USD


April 8, 2016

Deadline for Submissions.

April 29, 2016

Announcement of Winners

June 1-30, 2016

Travel period to Thailand

September 26-30, 2016

Presentation and Attendance at ACA17

The Jury reserves the right to revise dates as deemed appropriate during the award process.


The panel of judges comprising the three experts and representatives of current ARCASIA Office Bearers will select the winners based on their submissions.

Patama Roonrakwit [CASE]: Patama Roonrakwit is founder of CASE – Community Architects for Shelter and Environment. The award-winning studio works with a humanitarian and anthropological approach in creating appropriate housing for people.

Chutayaves Sinthuphan [Site-Specific]: Chutayaves Sinthuphan is founder of Site-Specific, a research-based design and architecture studio. His projects have been extensively published and acknowledged for their sustainable and innovative approaches.

Vipavee Kunavichayanont [Design for Disasters]: Vipavee Kunavichayanont is co-founder for Design for Disasters (D4D), a nonprofit research and design initiative network focused on finding creative long-term solutions to prepare for and recover from natural disasters.

Sathirut Nui Tandanand: Sathirut Nui Tandanand is the current President of ARCASIA and managing director of Dhevanand, a multidisciplinary architectural practice based in Bangkok, Thailand.

Luke Yeung: Luke Yeung is the current Honorary Secretary of ARCASIA and principal of Architectkidd, an award-winning architectural studio.

Bea Vithayathawornwong: Bea Vithayathawornwong is the current Honorary Treasurer of ARCASIA and design director of Beautbureau, a Bangkok-based design and research studio.